Future elections

Election for Witney Town Council (North Ward) on Thursday 21 June 2018

An election to fill a vacancy for the North Ward on the Witney Town Council has been scheduled for Thursday 21 June 2018. The period for nominating candidates closed at 4 pm on Thursday 24 May. There are three candidates, and the "statement of persons nominated" and "notice of poll" are available to download from this page. 

Postal voting packs were posted on 4 June, apart from the last small batch for later applicants, which was posted on 7 June.

The deadlines for applying to be registered to vote, and for applying to vote by post or proxy have all now passed, and the remaining key dates are:

  • polling - Thursday 21 June (7 am to 10 pm)
  • counting of votes - immediately after the close of poll

Please note that it is possible to apply to appoint an emergency proxy on health or employment grounds where (i) the reason for needing a proxy occurred after 5 pm on Wednesday 13 June; and (ii) the application is received no later than 5 pm on polling day. Please contact us for more information.

For general information about applying to be registered to vote or voting by post or proxy, please see the register to vote page.

Elections on Thursday 2 May 2019

The next major elections are scheduled for Thursday 2 May 2019 and are for 16 seats on West Oxfordshire District Council; and 151 seats on 18 Town and Parish Councils. 

The District Council elections will be for one seat for each of the following Wards:

Alvescot and Filkins; Bampton and Clanfield; Carterton North East; Carterton North West; Carterton South; Charlbury and Finstock; Chipping Norton; Eynsham and Cassington; Hailey, Minster Lovell and Leafield; Kingham, Rollright and Enstone; Stonesfield and Tackley; Witney Central; Witney East; Witney North; Witney South; and Witney West.

And the Town/Parish Council elections will be for the following Councils, with the number of seats shown in brackets: 

Alvescot (5); Black Bourton (5); Carterton (16): (Gateway Ward = 2; Upavon Ward = 5; Milestone Ward = 3; Rock Farm Ward = 3; Shillbrook Ward = 3); Chipping Norton (16); Clanfield (7); Combe (6); Crawley (5); Enstone (10); Eynsham (15); Filkins and Broughton Poggs (6); Finstock (6); Hailey (7); Langford (5); Leafield (7); Ramsden (5); Stonesfield (8); Swerford (5); and Witney (17) (Burwell Ward = 1; Central Ward = 3; East Ward= 4; North Ward = 3; South Ward = 3; West Ward = 3)

More information will be published on this page early in 2019.

Results of previous elections

For the results of previous elections within the District, please:

Registering to vote and voting by post or proxy

For information about registering to vote and postal and proxy voting, please:

District, town and parish councils  

West Oxfordshire District Council is made up of 49 elected Councillors, with one third elected three years in four.

Other elections

Parliamentary elections

The next election of a member of parliament for the Witney constituency is currently scheduled to take place on Thursday 5 May 2022.

Police and Crime Commissioner: May 2020

The next election of a Police and Crime Commissioner is scheduled for Thursday 7 May 2020.

For information about the Police and Crime Commissioner, please see the official website for the Thames Valley Police and Crime Commissioner

European parliamentary elections

European Parliamentary elections took place every five years between 1979 and 2014, inclusive.  West Oxfordshire is currently part of the South East Region, which has 10 MEPs.

The UK will cease to be a member of the European Union on 29 March 2019 and there will not therefore be a further European Parliamentary election.

West Oxfordshire District Council
New Yatt Road
OX28 1PB