Skip to main content

Find a district councillor

View Councillor information

Generally, each of the 49 councillors is elected for a four-year term. They decide how the District Council should carry out its many functions.

The political balance of the Council following the May 2024 elections is:

  • Liberal Democrats 21
  • Conservative 13
  • Labour/Labour & Co-operative* 11
  • Green Party 4

*The Labour and Labour and Co-operative Party councillors together form the Labour and Co-operative Party Group on the Council.

Councillors and their responsibilities

You can also find details of the Executive and their portfolio responsibilities here: Executive roles and responsibilities

See also